Meet "Baruch"

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
34 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Meet "Baruch"

Ethobling
Hello. I am a guy from SE NC who recently (2 months ago, I think) bought a 1983 F-100 with the wonderful straight 6. I named him "Baruch," which means "blessing" in Hebrew.

So far I have rebuilt the drum brakes in the back and have the calipers to redo the front brakes (I suspect they are sticking seeing as how the pads and rotors have much life left in them) and plan on trying to diagnose why Baruch wants to cut out after I try to start him (I have to pump the gas multiple times and then have to rev it for a few seconds before he will idle on his own). I suspect it is a fuel pump/filter, but I am new to fixing cars/trucks.
He has significant rust in the bed,
so I already took some time yesterday to go to the local "pick and pull" and look at some truck beds from 1980-1986 F-1xx(s) in the junk yard. Most of them look in excellent condition. I do have a question, though: can an 8 ft bed go on Baruch if Baruch only has a 7 ft bed installed now?

The oil pan is leaking, so I ordered a rubber-coated gasket (since I didn't like the idea of a cork one) and it comes in tomorrow. He needed an oil change anyway :)

Any tips/tricks are appreciated. I am young and new to fixing cars and truck in general, but want to be self-sufficient and now have to pay what little money I have on mechanics' "labor costs."

Thank you.
Project/Soon-to-be Work Truck: "Baruch" 1983 F-100 4.9 L6
Daily Driver: "Charlotte" 1997 Taurus Wagon GL
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Meet "Baruch"

Gary Lewis
Administrator
Welcome!  Glad you found us.  I'm sure we can help.

SE NC?  We have a member's map (Bullnose Forum/Member's Map in the menu) and I'd be happy to add you if I knew what town you are in.