classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
5 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Maintenance

mattmo
Hello!

I'm the new owner of a 1985 F-250. This is my first project truck so I'm learning as I go. The engine has 128k miles and seems to be in very good shape. I'd like to keep it that way so after some research I created a list of items that need to be checked/replaced. If anyone has any input please let me know!

Truck Specifications:
1985 F-250
Rear axle Dana 61 6250 3.54
Front axle Dana 44 TTB HD
351W
T18
4x4

Service items:
-Transmission fluid change
-Oil change
-Air filter change
-Differential fluid change
-Coolant check\change
-Spark plug and plug wire change
-Belt check\change
-Replace stretched throttle cable
-Check uJoints
-Brake drum check
-Brake fluid check
-Replace battery
-Replace wheels and tires
-Suspension check - Possible replace struts

Questions:
-What is required in servicing the transmission?
     -What type of fluid should I use? Synthetic? Mineral?
-Are there any detailed oil change guides available?
     -Should I use synthetic Oil?
     -I live in Kansas, winter weather is often below zero, what weight oil should I use?
-Would it be a good idea to change the coolant?
-For the differential fluid change, will the same fluid work on both the Dana 61 and 44 TTB?
     -Any recommended guide on how to do this?
-What should I look for in belt wear? Would it be a good idea to replace belts no matter how worn they are?
-The parking break is tied up and not working. Is there a common issue that causes this?
-Struts likely need to be replaced. Would it be a good idea to also replace leaf springs?
-Does the transfer case require any servicing?
-The oil pan seems to have a slight leak, not enough to drip, enough to make the oil pan perpetually slick.

Please forgive me if this information is already organized on the site.

Thank you,
1985 F-250 4x4
128k miles
351w
Warner T18
Dana 61 Rear 3.54
Dana 44 TTB HD