Holley 4160 carburetor compatibility questions

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
35 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Holley 4160 carburetor compatibility questions

reverse_fault_frank
I'm new to all of this so bear with me, but I recently purchased an 85 F250 with a 460. I'm in the process of swapping carburetors from what I believe is a 4180c to a rebuilt holley 4160 with an electric choke. My first question is if anyone knows of a throttle cable bracket that works with this carburetor, or if I will have to get a new throttle cable. Second question is about the vacuum hoses. I'm planning on replacing all of the vacuum hoses and I don't know if I should replace in the exact configuration on the diagram or if I should have a line that goes from the distributor straight to the metering block. Last question is about wiring the electric choke, I'm not sure where I should splice it to. Here's a few pictures of where I'm at.

Here's the current throttle cable bracket, also the old carb had the Air Conditioning compensator which unfortunatly was incompatible with the new carb.

This is the vacuum diagram
If it ain't broke, I just haven't gotten to it yet.

1985 F250 7.5 L, manual
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Holley 4160 carburetor compatibility questions

grumpin
What did you get the rebuilt carb off of?

The main reason I replaced mine with a Holley Classic was that the linkage bolted right up.
Dane
1986 F250HD SC XLT Lariat 4x4 460 C6-Sold
1992 Bronco XLT 4x4 351W E4OD
1998 GMC Sierra SLE K1500 350 4L60E
Arizona
Reply | Threaded
|

reverse_fault_frank
Not sure what it came off of, I bought it from a shop that rebuilds them.

1985 F250 7.5 L, manual
Reply | Threaded
|

ArdWrknTrk
Administrator
Frank, I have a 4160 0-08457s that's been on my truck.

You need the proper throttle ball stud arm, and the vacuum advance should go to the Thermal Vacuum Switch on the water neck.