classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
21 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Help On The Show Planning

Gary Lewis
Administrator
I posted this in the Get-Together: September 16th - Be There! thread, and got no responses.  (Do you'se guys know you can click on the Topics View button and see a chrono list of all posts?)  So, I'm bringing it out of the closet and asking for your help since I'll need to have trophies made if we are going to do this.

Ok, today's question is whether to have prizes for the "show".  Bruno2, aka The Mute as he hasn't posted here after signing up, says we need prizes.  Which means we need categories.  So, what categories should we have?  I'm totally new to this.  Here's a stab, out of the blue:

Stock: The closest to stock that shows up.  But, to be fair, do we need to give a year range?  In other words, a showroom-new 2017 is likely to win that one easily.  However, I think the intent is to go back several years where most trucks would have been modified in some way.

People's Favorite: Let the people vote.
Best Paint Bruno2 says the engine has to be installed
Best Engine

For background I contacted the host of a car show in my home town, and here's what they have:

Open Class
Pre '49
Post '49  (Hmmm, so you can't have a '49 in their show?  
Mopar: Obviously we don't need no SuperBees
Chevy: Nope, don't need no French Fries
Under 21: Intended for the driver, not the vehicle
Best Paint
Best Engine:
Unfinished: Bruno2 says that applies to all our trucks!

And, today I talked with the lady running the car show in Skiatook.  They have lots of classes by year, but my guess is we won't have enough depth in any year to make that worthwhile, unless we did best Bump, best Dent, best Bullnose, etc.  Anyway, some that they have which we might consider are:

Best Daily Driver
Best Lifted
Best Lowered
Best Monster Truck
Best Paint
Best Wheels
Best Interior

So, what do you think?
Gary, AKA "Gary fellow": Profile