Hello 1981 Flareside

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
6 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Hello 1981 Flareside

81F150flareside
I'm new to the truck world but I've always wanted one and when I was ready I started looking around. I decided I wanted something unique that not everyone would have and was a real truck and that was when I came across the Flareside. Being in Florida everything I came across had rust so I searched for it all the way up to New York and I found it 1.5 his north of Atlanta so I flew up and bought it and I love it. It's a 1981 F150 Flareside with a rebuilt 351M dyno'd at 300HP with no frame rust.

Now I'm going to slowly restore it myself with getting larger jobs
done at shops. I know I'm going to need some help do I'll definitely be posting on here for help and directions. Looking forward to seeing everyone's Bullnose.

Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Hello 1981 Flareside

Gary Lewis
Administrator
Welcome to the Bullnose Forum!  That's a nice looking truck.  

The M-block is my favorite engine family, partially because it is an underdog, but mainly because you can get so much power from a fairly small and light engine.  And 300 HP from a 351M is a good case in point.

What size tires do you have?  They look big.  And what gears do you have to accommodate those tires?

I really like the step bars as they look identical to those I have on Big Blue.

So, show us some more pics.  Tell us more about the engine, like what intake, exhaust, carb, etc.  Transmission, transfer case, and gears.
Dad's: '81 F150 Ranger XLT 4x4: Down for restomod: Full-roller "stroked 351M" w/Trick Flow heads & intake, EEC-V SEFI/E4OD/3.50 gears w/Kevlar clutches
Blue: 2015 F150 Platinum 4x4 SuperCrew wearing Blue Jeans & sporting a 3.5L EB & Max Tow
Big Blue: 1985 F250HD 4x4: 460/soon-to-be ZF5/3.55's & EEC-V MAF/SEFI
Reply | Threaded
|

Rembrant
In reply to this post by 81F150flareside
Welcome number two, and yes, nice truck.