Do I have a bad BlueTop ??

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
9 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Do I have a bad BlueTop ??

RenoHuskerDu
I have been fighting steering play since we bought this 1986 F250 2wd. Finally I installed a BlueTop steering box, thinking it would fix it. Ryan at BlueTop is a pleasure to deal with, he actually - gasp - answers the phone when we call. Previously, the truck had play in the steering, and I could see the sector shaft had axial play. It was a cheap rebuilt box, so I put in a quality remachined rebuild from BlueTop.

Steering was still suboptimal, and I saw movement on the TTB arms, so my son's shop replaced the radius arm bushings and swing arm bushings. I put on all new tires, junking the Walmart tires suitable only for the shooting berm. To preserve the new tires, the tire store replaced the drag link and tie rod with new parts, and aligned her up.

By now, steering should be great, right?  Not.  Still tight, as if it had a double steering shock setup. It doesn't. It's a 2wd. So I zeroed in on the steering knuckles aka kingpins.  A couple zercs would not take grease.

Today we resolved that.  We hung the truck by the frame rails and removed the tires to get at the kingpins easily. All 4 kingpin zercs now take grease. In moving the steering back and forth, 3 symptoms occured that make me wonder if the BlueTop is bad.

1) Type F was ejected forcefully from the PS reservoir. A lot. Should all that Type F get forced out? I did the same on our CVPI recently and no ATF was forced out.

2) Steering feels tight, even with the frontend hanging. Shouldn't the steering cycle easily while hanging in the air?

3) There's an audible click from the steering box, near lock. I confirmed that it's at the steering box with a stethoscope. It is hard to explain. It's also visible in a jerky motion of the Pitman when the box clicks.

Are any of those symptoms normal?  Here's a video of the fun leak.