C6 Transmission Pick up tube

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
20 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

C6 Transmission Pick up tube

viven44
I'm doing a fluid change on a C6 transmission. I must say this is my first time doing this on a 4x4 so I don't know what is normal.

I ordered a WIX 58937 filter because it had the better reviews vs the ATP B50. Motorcraft is only NOS unfortunately.

The pickup tube that is used for the 4x4 deep pan is a loose fit. Waiting on the ATB B50 filter kit to see how the fit is. If both are loose, I'm going to reuse the old filter as its just a metal screen.

Getting harder to keep these old trucks going

Vivek

- 'Big Blue 2WD' - 1984 F350 RWD 460/C6
- 1978 Bronco with the heart of a 1986 F250 Bullnose - under restoration
- "Bonded Bronco" -1985 Bronco - 302 4-speed fuel injected, Hibernating future project
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: C6 Transmission Pick up tube

viven44
I’m not too worried about the pick up tube falling out because those “tangs” touch the bottom of the pan  ,just barely and will hold that pickup where it is.

Just worried about the clearance between the pick up tube and the grommet. I’m afraid oil or worse air! can get past that.

Vivek

- "Bonded Bronco" -1985 Bronco - 302 4-speed fuel injected, Hibernating future project
Reply | Threaded
|

mat in tn
the normal fluid level is well above this added pickup tube. the reason for the dip in the 4wd pans and the extension tube is for the odd steep angle that trucks occasionally find themselves in when working off road. generally speaking, any angle that the truck can manage is well within the pan's capacity. if doing extreme offroading then you may want to discuss that with those who push limits and are modifying much more at the same time
Reply | Threaded
|

viven44
OK that is super comforting to know. When I dropped this pan I extracted ~7 quarts of fluid. So i'm not at all surprised it would be past where the pickup would be.