classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
8 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Bigger Vacuum vs Hydroboost

Vic Roma
This post was updated on .
To improve braking, is it better to swap out an F150 vacuum booster for one in an F350, or just change it altogether for a hydro-boost system?
1984 Bronco 351 Holley Sniper EFI, 3 Speed Ford Auto.
1986 Bronco 302 EFI, AOD, Eddie Bauer, with 3G alternator.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Bigger Master Cylinder vs Hydroboost

Ford F834
Administrator
The F250/350 master cylinders won’t fit on a F150 booster. Going to a larger bore master cylinder will also require MORE pedal effort and make your brakes feel worse. To improve braking, you need a more forceful booster. The larger master cylinder bores are needed on the heavier trucks because the wheel cylinder volumes are larger, and require more fluid to enter for proper braking. You can use a large bore master cylinder on a lighter truck (I have a F450 hydroboost master on my F150), just expect that you will have a more firm pedal with less travel. If you convert to hydroboost with F450 components, you will have to use at least a F250 master cylinder since the F150 stud spacing is different. I used all F450 components from a junkyard, and the braking performance is drastically better than any vacuum system I’ve owned.
SHORT BED 4-DOOR DIESEL: 1986 F350 4x4 under construction-- 7.3 IDIT ZF5+GVOD

STRAIGHT SIX 4X4: 1981 F150 2wd to 4x4-- 300 I6 close ratio diesel T19, hydroboost brakes, Saginaw steering

BIG F: 1995 F-Superduty under construction— converting to 6.9L IDI diesel ZF5+DNE2
Reply | Threaded
|

Vic Roma
Thanks. I changed the title of my original post to read bigger vacuum vs hydro boost, because that's what I was referring to, and am still figuring this stuff out, including the right questions to ask.