classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
31 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

"Baruch" - The 1983 F100 Soon-to-be Work Truck

Ethobling
Hey folks.

I recently increased the number of cars I own by 100%! Impressive, eh?

Baruch is a 1983 F-100 with the 4.9L straight 6. Body has close to 300k miles, but the motor (should) have less than 100k. This is the first truck I've owned and first project vehicle I have owned. I am new to fixing cars/trucks, but I've already learned a lot with the help of a few nice folks over in my intro thread (http://www.garysgaragemahal.com/#nabble-td39255).

So far I have:
-Replaced all rear brake hardware, cylinders, the shoes, and flushed the rear brake lines
-Cleaned and repacked the front driver's side wheel bearings along and replaced the rotor and pads (I plan on finishing the other side as soon as the parts come in)
-Successfully temporarily-probably-maybe-hopefully fixed the keeper back in place on my rear passenger size leaf spring.
-Drained the oil.

What I have left to do:
-Put in new wheel bearings on the Pass-front wheel hub, replace the caliper (which now means I need to replace the caliper on the other side), replace rotor and pads, and affix a new dust cap.
-Figure out a permanent fix on the keeper coming out from keeping the leaves together
-Put oil in the oil pan. Put a new oil pan gasket on it to keep it from leaking.
-Replace the tie rods
-Get at least 2 new tires. Probably 4. Or maybe 5. I don't know. Somewhere between 1 and 5 new tires. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
-Probably some other major issue I haven't found yet.

What I really want/kinda need to do:
-Replace the bed of the truck
-Adjust the idle so it isn't so low.
-Find an inspection plate for the transmission (some owner previously took it off and never put it back on).

What I would love to do:
-Paint him from beige to a nice dark forest green along with my business name on it. (This is at least a year down the road, after I get a new bed)