classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
8 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

86 Brake System Troubles

Nboogades
Good Morning Everyone,
My name is Nick, I'm a college student in Tennessee (soon to be Texas) and I have and 86 F-150 XLT Lariat with the 302. Ive been trying to figure out brake issues I've been having. I replaced both front calipers a few weeks ago since the bleeder screws on both were in rough shape, bled the brakes and that did no good. Last week I replaced the brake booster and that also did nothing. When I'm bleeding the brakes the pedal is very firm by the time I'm done, but when I turn the truck on and go to give it a test drive, the pedal softens back up and it takes the pedal all the way down to the bottom of the travel until i feel the brakes. Might I have a vacuum problem? Problem with my master cylinder? Any input would be helpful as this is my first "project vehicle".
thanks,
Nick
1986 F-150 XLT Lariat 4WD 302
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: 86 Brake System Troubles

Gary Lewis
Administrator
Nick - Welcome to the forum.  Glad you joined.  

You may have missed the email that asked you to do an intro post in the New Members Start Here folder - after reading the guidelines.  The main purpose of that is to ensure everyone reads the guidelines as we hold everyone to them.  So can you assure me you have read them?

And, I always ask in the intro posts where the person lives.  That's 'cause we have a map (Bullnose Forum/Member's Map in the menu) and can add you if we had a city or zip.

On your brake issues, I'm not sure you really told us what the issue is you've been trying to solve.  Maybe it is that your brake pedal goes down when you start the engine?  If so, that is to be expected to some extent as the engine's vacuum provides a lot of boost to your pedal pressure, and if there is any air in the brake fluid then it will get compressed.