351w HO timing

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
4 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

351w HO timing

Fordboy300
Hey Guys,  could someone explain to me how to set up timing on my dads f250 I just bought a timing light the other day and I've never used one before but I'm always open to learning new things.   The reason I bought a timing is because I'm planning on replacing the intake manifold with a edelbrock and the distributor is a tooth off so number one is where 3 is and so on

When I got the timing light I was so eager to use I hooked it up to my  86 f150 with a 300 six and it's at 10 degrees advance if I said that right.  It was pretty cool seeing that.  

"Big Red" 1986 Ford F150 XL

Ford 300 i6 4.9L  .20 over bore(303 cubic inches now), p&p head, Crower 19212 cam, crower lifter spring kit, cloyes timing gears, EFI manifolds, Offenhauser C-series, Edelbrock 500cfm, DUI Ignition Dizzy, dual in single out magnaflow exhaust dumped before the rear axle.  
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: 351w HO timing

myrl883
10 degrees is going to be pretty close. As far as setting timing goes, you want the engine at a slow idle so that you know that there's no centrifugal advance, and disconnect the vacuum hose to the distributor. Then rotate the distributor to line up the marks on the balancer and the pointer. If your truck still has the VECI decal, timing specs will be listed on it.
Ford Parts Monkey since 1985
1981 F100 Flareside - Black, 302-4V Roller/AOD
1986 F150 Flareside - Medium Fire Red 302/AOD
1989 F150 Standard Cab 4x4 - Dk Shadow Blue 302/AOD
1993 F350 4x4 Crew Cab - 7.3 IDI/ZF-5
I think it's a sickness...
Reply | Threaded
|

Pete Whitstone
In reply to this post by Fordboy300