300/4.9L carburetion options for future project?

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
34 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

300/4.9L carburetion options for future project?

1986F150Six
Administrator
Earlier this week in the WHYDTYTT forum [page #99], Gary posted photos of a CLIFFORD 2 X 4 intake manifold with adapters which work with Motorcraft 2100 or 2150 carburetors.

This manifold was an "impulse" purchase, as I have been driving for over 10 years with the stock log intake and a Carter YF. It is a NOS unit and I wanted an opportunity to preserve it.

As I approach retirement and will not depend on having the truck at the "ready", it is possible that the manifold might be experimented with. If so, since the engine is still quite healthy, the intake manifold and probably F.I. exhaust manifolds will be swapped for the stock system on the stock engine [Duraspark conversion already done, since 1986 was feedback].

What carburetors are suggested?

Reply | Threaded
|

Re: 300/4.9L carburetion options for future project?

Gary Lewis
Administrator
I don't have a lot of experience with different carbs, so won't have a lot of "recommendations".  However, I do have a lot of "thoughts" that I'm more than happy to share.  

First, let's document here, as I did in the other thread, the difference in CFM ratings for 1 & 2bbl carbs vs 4bbl carbs.  The 1 & 2bbl carbs are rated at 3" of vacuum, while the 4bbl's are rated at 1.5" of vacuum.  So to convert a 2bbl rating to a 4bbl you divide by 1.414, and to convert a 4bbl rating to 2bbl you multiply by 1.414.

Let's take an example.  The YF on your truck is supposedly rated at 196 CFM at 3" of vacuum.  But if we want to compare to a 4bbl we'd divide by 1.414 and get 139 CFM.  Or, to go the other way, one of the smallest 4bbls available is a 450 CFM, and multiplying by 1.414 I get 636 CFM.