classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
81 messages Options
Tom
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

1983 F150 5.8L 351W 4x4 Project

Tom
After many months, I'm finally going to take steps to replace the Motorcraft Variable Venturi Carb in my truck.  I've had the carb rebuilt, I've tried to make adjustments; but, at the end of the day, it is very unreliable.

When I fist became a Bullnose member, back in October 2019, Gary kindly recommended to replace with either a Motorcraft 2150 or an Edelbrock 1406 carb and a new intake manifold.

Here are some circumstances regarding this project.  Although I have done brakes, mufflers, oil, tires, some electrical work, some body work  - I am a true rookie regarding this level of engine work.

I am not looking for anything aggressive.  I love having the truck for trips to the hardware store or lumber yard.  I would probably put two or three thousand miles a year on the odometer.

Given the age of the truck - 37 years old - my State of Vermont does not require any emissions testing.  The current VV carb has an electronic choke.  The pollution air pump is disengaged and not working.  It has an EEC-III/Duraspark III distributor and ignition System.

It seems that in replacing the carb, I would need to also possibly replace parts of the ignition system.  I haven't been able to find resources that would outline that work for my 1983 truck.

Finally, there are too many vacuum hoses to mention.  I'm hoping that a carb swap would do away with many of those hoses.

My first step will be to make a decision on which path to take - either the Motorcraft 2150 or a new Edelbrock intake manifold with an Edelbrock 1406 carb.  

If you do have any information or knowledge that you would like to share, that would be awesome!  As I take these first steps any advice would be appreciated very much!

Thanks so much,

Tom

1983 4X4 Ford F150 w/ Manual Transmission, 351W, Long Bed, Standard Cab, Motorcraft VV carb
Reply | Threaded
|